Some questions about Mind Blade Feats (from the DSP d20 srd)

Home/General Discussion/Customer Service / Forum Questions/Some questions about Mind Blade Feats (from the DSP d20 srd)
Some questions about Mind Blade Feats (from the DSP d20 srd) 2015-12-06T06:23:16+00:00

Dreamscarred Press RPG Products Forums General Discussion Customer Service / Forum Questions Some questions about Mind Blade Feats (from the DSP d20 srd)

Tagged: ,

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • Chris
    Participant
    Post count: 7
    #39383 |

    I thought it was pretty neat that mindblades can now be accessed through either a class or a set of feats in the DSP d20 rules.

    The question I have is whether there is Transparency between these two progressions for accessing mindblades.

    to wit:

    If I am playing a multiclass Enlightened Monk/Soulknife and want the Monastic Blade feat, can I get it without having to take the Form Mindblade and Shape Mindblade feats? That would seem kinda redundant. Instead of that, can the Soulknife’s Mindblade class feature count as the Form Mindblade feat and the Shape Mindblade class feature as the Shape Mindblade feat for the purposes of meeting the prerequisites for Monastic Blade?

    Transparency would also imply the other direction. Could I used the Throw Mindblade feat in place of the Throw Mindblade class feature to qualify for the Soulbow prestige class (from Complete Psi)?

    Also if I have both Soulknife levels and Mind Blade Feats? Is there an option to stack these to get a higher bonus on my mindblade? Or would I have two mind blades? Or would they just overlap?

    I’m just looking for a official ruling.

    Tevolria
    Participant
    Post count: 184

    In the same book that introduces the Mindblade feats, they also have a variant soulknife wherein they gain the appropriate feats instead of the normal class features. While nothing in the rules specifically says you can’t take levels of soulknife (standard) and take the feats, the feats DO require its previous feats specifically. I do not believe transparency was intended. however, The dev who made that book is a moderator on this forum, so he should be able to tell you for sure.
    Of note, Mind Blade feats were NOT intended to work with Mind Blade Kensai feats.

    Chris
    Participant
    Post count: 7

    In the same book that introduces the Mindblade feats, they also have a variant soulknife wherein they gain the appropriate feats instead of the normal class features. While nothing in the rules specifically says you can’t take levels of soulknife (standard) and take the feats, the feats DO require its previous feats specifically. I do not believe transparency was intended. however, The dev who made that book is a moderator on this forum, so he should be able to tell you for sure.
    Of note, Mind Blade feats were NOT intended to work with Mind Blade Kensai feats.

    Would that be Untapped Potential?

    Thanks for taking the time to answer!

    Tevolria
    Participant
    Post count: 184

    Mind Unveiled is the book you are looking for.

    Andreas Rönnqvist
    Keymaster
    Post count: 96

    HI!

    I’m the author of said feats – first of all, if we’re talking about the 3.5 material, I’ll have to admit I’m a bit rusty.

    1. The intention was to either use the classic Soulknife OR the Mindblade Feats, not both at the same time, which is why an alternate Soulknife class was presented in the material. In other words, there wasn’t a specific interactivity between the classic Soulknife and Mindblade feats intended. Therefore, you can’t substitute the Soulknife original features for Mindblade feats, atleast that wasn’t our intention.

    2. Whether or not the Mindblade feats allow you to qualify for prestige classes, is essentially up to your GM, since we couldn’t officially integrate our material with Complete Psionics. That said, my intention was for it to be equivalent, so if you use the Mindblade Feats, having the Throw Mindblade feat would be equivalent to the class feature.

    My suggestion would be to turn your Soulknife into one adapted for Mindblade feats, in which case everything should lock into place correctly.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.