Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • ATalsen
    Participant
    Post count: 3
    #37451 |

    Current Move Text:
    —–
    9th Level
    Break the Hourglass
    Riven Hourglass (Counter)
    Level: 9
    Prerequisite: Four Riven Hourglass maneuvers
    Initiation Action: 1 immediate action
    Range: Personal
    Target: You
    Duration: Instant

    As an immediate action, you react within the area of an opponent’s ability or attack that targets you, and you may take actions before this effect occurs. You gain a standard action and a move action (or if used together a full round action) that you may use as long as the action only affects the the target that the counter was initiated against. If the target is reduced to 0 hit points or fewer than the target’s effect never happens, effectively negating the effect from ever occurring (this would also negate the attack’s effect on other characters as well).
    —–

    “As an immediate action, you react within the area of an opponent’s ability or attack that targets you, and you may take actions before this effect occurs.”

    In this sentence the word “area” is used, where I think “range” is a more accurate. Many attacks do not have an area (single target spells, sword blows), but as far as I know, they all have a range.

    For example, using “area” results in an opponent throwing a fireball at the initiator and the initiator being unable to do anything to the opponent since they are not within the “area” of their own fireball.

    Am I reading this correctly when I make the assumption that this wording was used to prevent the initiator from being able to leave the location, so as to prevent them from simply moving out of the area of the attack and negating it that way?

    If so, I’d just address that directly and say ‘If the opponent’s attack does take place, you are still subject to it as normal, even if you are no longer in the area or range that would normally be affected by it,” as the last line.

    “as long as the action only affects the the target that the counter was initiated against.”
    [Note there is a typo with two ‘the’s in that sentence]

    The target of the counter is “You”, not “One opponent”.
    For clarity maybe make the target “One opponent”, or revise the wording to indicate you need to select an opponent when you use the move?

    Example:
    “As an immediate action, select an opponent: you react within the range of that opponent’s ability or attack that targets you, and you may take actions before this effect occurs.”

    • This topic was modified 4 years, 6 months ago by  ATalsen.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.