Forum Replies Created
MichaelParticipantMarch 27, 2016 at 05:47Post count: 12
Jeremy has been working on finishing layout for the Supplemental release, but it is absolutely huge, and with the issues he’s had to deal with in his personal life leading to a bit of a backlog, it is taking awhile to get through.
Now that PW:E is completed, the AM Supplemental release should be the next big priority to push out, after which we’ll be running the errata we’ve compiled plus anything new that crops up in Supplemental that slipped through playtesting and then compiling for the final AM release.MichaelParticipantMarch 27, 2016 at 05:39Post count: 12
Shared Veil will be updated to read-
You can share a veil with an ally with which you have a special bond.
Prerequisite: Ability to shape veils and an animal companion, eidolon, familiar, mount, or creature whose services are granted as part of a known veil.
Benefit: When shaping your veils, any one veil shaped by you can also affect your familiar, animal companion, mount, or any creature currently created or controlled by one of your shaped veils. You may change which veil is shared in this way, or which companion it is shared with, as a standard action. The creature in question must remain within 15 feet of you to receive the benefit and must have the appropriate limb or body part (a horse cannot benefit from a veil that occupies the Hands slot,for example). If the creature leaves this radius of effect, it loses the benefits of the veil until such time as it returns within 15 feet. If the veil has an activated ability (like Gorget of the Wyrm’s breath weapon attack) the companion instinctively knows how to use it and can be commanded to do so with a Handle Animal check as though it were a trained trick. Familiars do not require a check, and can be commanded to utilize their veil as a free action (though they must still spend the appropriate action to activate it). Your companion also shares the benefits of any essence you have invested in the veil.”
As to it being a “screw you” to psicrystals… There are virtually no other feats that affect both familiars and psicrystals, and that’s because psicrystals and familiars are very different things. This just isn’t really a feat that can be properly tailored to psicrystals without taking up a lot more word count than it already does (which is, honestly, a lot). That doesn’t mean that there won’t be other akashic feats that are tailored to psicrystals, and in all likelihood those feats won’t be appropriate for familiars.
MichaelParticipantJune 30, 2015 at 00:31Post count: 12
- This reply was modified 3 years, 5 months ago by Michael.
For the drain essence ability of tbe black templar prc what is the intended usage? It says it can be used in place of any other attack. Does this mean it can be used iteratively once you have a high enough BAB?
Could a monk flurry with it or is it only useable once per round?
Can it be used with feats like vital strike that modify the damage roll?
Could it be used in place of attacks granted by veils such as the one granted by the armbands of tbe irked elephant?
Yes, you can use it multiple times if you have a high enough BAB.
Yes, a monk who managed to qualify could flurry with it. The verbage and basic idea are actually much the same as the way a monk can substitute an unarmed strike in for any flurry attack, or the way any character can sub in a trip or sunder attempt in place of a melee attack.
No, Vital Strike wouldn’t affect it, because it’s not a weapon.
Armbands of the Irked Elephant is a bit weird, but I didn’t intend for the two abilities to interact. AotIE is intended to be more of a rider effect, which is why it says “…make a melee attack /roll/ and (deal damage)”. So there’s an argument that yeah, technically RAW they arguably work together, but I didn’t write them with the intention that they would. That being said, it probably wouldn’t be much more powerful than a monk who managed to qualify for the PrC doing a flurry of essence drains.
MichaelParticipantJune 15, 2015 at 01:06Post count: 12MichaelParticipantJune 14, 2015 at 22:41Post count: 12
- This reply was modified 4 years, 2 months ago by Michael.
Thank you for the submission! I’m Michael Sayre, author of Akashic Mysteries and lead designer of the upcoming Psitech release that interacts with the Technology Guide, and we went a little bit different direction with how PP can be used to recharge/replace battery charges. That power’s some pretty effective and well-balanced homebrew until the Psitech playtest starts though, and there may still be a place for powers and abilities like that. Keep an eye out for the Psitech playtest; I’d love to hear your thoughts and see if there isn’t a place for some of your materials there.
MichaelParticipantJune 8, 2015 at 22:23Post count: 12MichaelParticipantJune 8, 2015 at 02:59Post count: 12
- This reply was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by Michael.
It actually references the die, not the damage die size. A weapon with a 1d8 damage die goes to 2d8, a weapon with 2d6 base damage die does 3d6.
exactly and it seems terrible to me,
granted there is not example of a weapon with 2d6 base damage in the table, so it is hard to tell exactly how it handles multiple dice.
but 2d6 goes to 3d6, where 1d12 goes to 2d12.
seems dumb to me, and bad design. unless the goal was to make the higher base damage do less damage as it scaled.
As I recall from the last conversation about this with Andreas, the goal with that ability was to make sniping viable by introducing a balanced mechanic that stacked with Vital Strike, something that it actually does very well. The downside, of course, is that it’s a stronger option for weapons with single large damage die than it is for weapons that use multiple small die (2d4, 2d6, etc.). In most instances, the result is that the value of the increase differs but the overall effect on the Marksman’s damage output is fairly consistent; most weapons with particularly small damage die usually compensate through things like improved crit multipliers or threat ranges, which the ability works with.
I think there are a couple corner cases the ability doesn’t work well in, and a few scenarios where size manipulating abilities can actually combine with it to decrease total damage (for example, gravity bow or a similar effect changing the weapon from 1d8 to 2d6 results in a loss in total DPR at high levels), but there’s not a lot of other ways to phrase the ability that won’t cause more issues than they solve. With the exception of a few thrown weapons, it actually does a pretty admirable job of accomplishing what it’s intended to; the only real catch in the ability is that the usual tricks to boost damage won’t always work in a positive manner, and increasing the damage die with other abilities may actually just turn into a choice between a higher max damage or a higher minimum damage.MichaelParticipantJune 6, 2015 at 05:59Post count: 12
It actually references the die, not the damage die size. A weapon with a 1d8 damage die goes to 2d8, a weapon with 2d6 base damage die does 3d6.MichaelParticipantMay 16, 2015 at 19:00Post count: 12
Anything that has the “as if” or “is treated as” verbage somewhere in its entry doesn’t stack with other effects that also have that verbage. So INA, Primal Warrior Stance, and Strong Jaw don’t stack, you only get the most beneficial increase from the bunch.
In your example, you’d get the base damage of Claws of the Beast based on how much you paid to manifest it, the actual size increase of Metamorphosis, and then 1 of the virtual increases (Strong Jaw in this instance since it’s the most beneficial).MichaelParticipantMay 15, 2015 at 10:31Post count: 12MichaelParticipantMay 14, 2015 at 19:17Post count: 12
My problem though is that it gives you powers on specific lists not your own. It would be like giving the sorcerer a summoner’s version of the Haste spell, or the ability to learn the Heal spell. That part is not in line with the rest of the game, and is my major concern, one that has yet to be addressed.
You mean, granting you powers from another list, like the Samsaran racial trait Mystic Past Life, the White Mage Arcanist archetype, any of a variety of class features including the very notable domains and revelations, or the UMD skill? There’s also tons of favored class bonuses allowing core spontaneous casters like the sorcerer or oracle to add additional spells known from their class spell list, so on that front Paizo has decided that a spell known to a sorcerer is worth about 1 hit point.
Psychic chirurgery is definitely not out of line with the expectations of the game. You’re taking one character with a limited list of powers known, one of which is obviously going to be psychic chirurgery itself, and allowing that character to share a number of powers limited by both the recipient’s key ability score and available time, since psychic chirurgery inflicts ability burn equal to the level of the power shared, and powers cannot be shared while either participant is suffering from ability burn. Since the target has to also be able to manifest powers of the given level, there’s no increase in power either; they’re getting abilities of a level they already could manifest. There’s at most an increase in versatility, an additional way for someone to interact with the game, at the cost of someone else limiting their own ability to interact by sacrificing one of a precious few 9th level powers.
For me, there’s already numerous ways for casters to dip spells from other spell lists, ways that don’t involve GM fiat or another PC limiting their own power to expand a companion’s versatility. Most of those options can be found in Paizo’s core line of books. I think ATalsen gave you the best advice when he suggested you look at the cost of mind stones and ask the GM to award the other players a similar amount to maintain party reward parity. I don’t believe there’s any issue with the spell itself, and I think it’s a little disingenuous to say that it’s not in line with the rest of the game when the core game includes spells like wish, which is literally any other arcane spell of 8th level or lower you want it to be, the summon monster line, which gives the caster improved action economy and access to a huge variety of spells from virtually all spell lists, and of course gate, which has potentially all the benefits of summon monster and no restriction on what spells or SLAs the creature can use, allowing it to quickly pay for itself and then some.
- This reply was modified 4 years, 4 months ago by Michael.